The Single Wicket competition, which was not held in 2018, took place on a beautiful day, but with only 11 players participating, the absolute minimum to hold the competition. We were able to hold it as there were two umpires, Colin Carter and Shahzad Muzaffar, many thanks to them.

In the first round, five players had byes. Dave Allen (19, including his ten bonus runs) beat Aaron Farricker (-5). Chris Onions (13, with 10 bonus runs) beat John Osborne (11, with 2 bonus runs) thanks to a four off the final ball (a slow full toss). Pardeep Kumar (6) beat Pascal Badan (-1, plus 2 bonus runs).

In round 2, Elmer Sharp (9) showed that a rest from the game had not diminished his pace as he beat Dave Allen (0). Bilal Kiani (10) beat Ahmed Ahmed (-1). Chris Onions (20) beat Pardeep Kumar (18). Jibran Shabbir hit four sixes in his score of 37, Jonathan Gall only managed 15 in reply.

In the first semi-final, Elmer, batting first, scored 16 but Bilal was hit on the jaw by a bouncer (he wasn't wearing a helmet) and had to retire injured. Fortunately the injury wasn't as bad as it could have been. In the second semi-final, Chris batted first and only amassed 4 runs after getting out twice. Jibran again hit four sixes in his score of 34.

The final, which is three overs each, saw Elmer score 20 but Jibran, batting second, only managed 14 after getting out three times.

Congratulations to Elmer for winning the trophy for the first time.

The competition was rounded off by a very enjoyable BBQ, many thanks to Leah and Aaron for organising it.

The score cards and results are available on the web site.