Pardeep KUMAR

Captain's Report 2020

Years are usually eulogised at their conclusion, but eleven months into 2020, this very special year is already being hailed as "the worst year ever", by several news agencies. This is in part because Covid-19 is not just an abstract news event happening in the whole world. It is everywhere and has personally affected almost everyone. Only eleven months in, it is already several years in one.

This season it was my honour to captain the CERN cricket team. I would like to thank Alexander Brown for scheduling a total 11 games. 9 of these were played under very unusual circumstances and 2 matches were cancelled. Many of our players were not able to participate due to Covid-19 concerns, still we managed to attract some new players to strengthen the club. Total 23 players participated this year. I would like to thank Vignesh Sethuraman, Mark Baker, Louis Brittain, Piers Goodwin and Ibtisam Aslam for joining the CERN CC.

I would also like to express my appreciation to Chris Onions for his invaluable guidance. In addition, I would like to thank Chris and John Osborne on the behalf of team for waiving off the club membership fees for 2020. I would also like to thank Dawood Ahmed and Bilal Kiani for their support.

The highlight of the season was the League game Vs GE XISTARS, where we defeated them and qualified for the CSPL Quarter Final. We bowled XIStars out for 256. Bilal took 5, Claston 2, Pardeep and Dawood 1 wicket respectively. An excellent batting was displayed from the start by Matthew (45), Amir Khan (Lala) 15, Vignesh 75*, Paul 39 and Claston 22, helped us achieving the target with 13 balls to spare. CERN CC put up an excellent display of Cricket and sportsmanship. I would like to congratulate Irsalan Ahmed as an emerging player for CERN, he has developed excellent bowling and fielding skills.

Finally, I would like to thank Matthew Martin, Paul Partha, Claston D'Mello, Muhhamed Amir Khan, Nelson Burrell, Aaron Farricker, Dawood Ahmed, Saud Ahmed, Ibtisam Aslam, Irsalan Ahmed, Vignesh Sethuraman, Anees Akhter, Achintya Rao, Elmer Sharp, Mehmood Khan, Ravi Kanitkar, Mark Baker, Louis Brittain and Piers Goodwin for participating this year. I also would like to personally thank Anees Akhter, Aaron Farricker and Andrew Hale for their contribution to the club over the past few years.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all a Happy Holiday Season. Please stay safe and see you all next year.